New Job, Same Issues

I shouted again at my students more than once today. It’s only my fourth day as a special education resource teacher at a charter school in an urban district. I’m a balding, middle aged, bespectled white male. My students are energetic African American 4th-6th graders with various disabilities. The school has hours of testing on Fridays (Thanks NCLB!) so at one point before lunch I had all of my restless students show up in my room-some with tests I was supposed to adapt or proctor, others with no work, all with attitudes.

While the morning was OK, the afternoon was horrible. I probably am burned out, but with a family of seven I don’t have the luxury of pursuing a mid-life career change. Instead I plod along being a mediocre teacher for students who may need more than I can give-even if it were my best.

January 23, 2010. Education.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

